Spot the Empire Librarian's blog

Welcome to a librarian's online musings on libraries, literature and information media.

What librarians do on vacation.

Leave a comment

Librarians read while on vacation.  They try to make a dent in their reading pile, the one which teeters precariously on their bedside tables. Yes, we read. In case there was ever any doubt.  Or we nap in lawn chairs by  a very pretty lake,  with our half open books.

I will admit to being dog tired  from an exhausting 365 days. And finishing up my job.  And packing up my house.  And preparing for the move to our new home. And planning out my course of action for my new job.

To sit by the shores of Lake Champlain,  watching beautiful sunsets over the Adirondack mountain, listening to the  water lap against the  rock wall and the wind   rustling the poplar tree branches is the most peaceful therapy I can imagine.  My husband  and son enjoy seeking their  fishing spots in Lake Champlain.  Miss Lily  enjoys the holiday; the  wind in her fur while sunning herself on the veranda.  Her ears prick up when  wildlife appear on the property.  It is a quiet and peaceful time.

I have been asked what do we read while on holiday?  This year,  I will admit to a huge stack of magazines: Real Simple, Good House Keeping, Martha Stewart,   HGTV Magazine, Make, This Old House and an Ethan Allen catalog.   I also brought along a  few ARCs collected from last week’s adventure at Book Expo.

  • The Circle by David Eggers
  • The identicals by Elin Hilderband
  •  The Late Show by Micheal Connelly
  • Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan
  • Digitizing your collection by Susanne Caro
  • Warriors #4 : Rising Storm by Erin Hunter

Happy summer 2017.

Author: spotwin

While I am a librarian , I am a reading cheerleader. The purpose of this library blog is to better promote reading and information literacy to community. I love books, reading to my son,properly placed apostrophes,canoeing, locating the nearest Starbucks, cheering the Montreal Canadians, and Cherry Garcia ice cream.

Leave a Reply

