Spot the Empire Librarian's blog

Welcome to a librarian's online musings on libraries, literature and information media.

Food. Books. Local authors.

Leave a comment

Food and books.  

This is my life.

So,  when  the two passions of my life merge into one……well,  only good can come of it.

Image

Image

I was intrigued by a wonderful new book by Poughkeepsie Day School  alum Dinah Fried ’99, a former local Poughkeepsie resident.   Each photograph is accompanied by the particular passage in which the recipe appeared, as well as a few quick and curious factlets about the respective author, novel, or food.

As part of her thesis at the Rhode Island School of Design, reflects on her long-term love affair with the culinary details of famous fiction, which possess a unique multi-sensory capacity to transport the reader into a specific world and thus grant the singular gift of exceptionally vivid memories:

Many of my most vivid memories from books are of the meals the characters eat. I read Heidi more than twenty years ago, but I can still taste the golden, cheesy toast that her grandfather serves her, and I can still feel the anticipation and comfort she experiences as she watches him prepare it over the open fire. I remember some meals for the moment they signify within a story: the minty cupcakes that Melissa gives to Chip in The Corrections — a marker of their love affair, which causes Chip’s professional downfall and general unraveling. Other meals have stayed with me for the atmosphere they help convey. Recently, a friend told me that after reading Lolita, he began to drink gin and pineapple juice, a favorite combination of the novel’s narrator, Humbert Humbert. I readLolita when I was barely older than Lolita herself and was amazed that my friend’s description of the cocktail catapulted me back to the distinct world that Nabokov had created: a sticky New England summer when an intoxicated, lust-lorn Humbert Humbert mows the unruly lawn in the hot sun, pining for Dolores, who is away at camp. Likewise, Melville’s description of steaming chowder in Moby-Dick evokes a vision of Ishmael’s seafaring life: salty, damp ocean air on a dark evening; finding solace in a cozy, warmly lit inn with a toasty dining room filled with good cheer and the rich smell of fresh seafood.

fictitiousdishes_gatsbyFictitious Dishes: Alice's Adventures in Wonderlandfictitiousdishes_belljarfictitiousdishes_secret

Fried has  recreated memorable meals from the works of Kerouac ( my fave), Louisa May Alcott, Hunter S. Thompson,   (more cigarette with a side of oranges than a full meal!), Virginia Woolf, James Joyce Toni Morrison and my childhood favorite, Lucy Maud Montgomery.  This album of literary feasts arrived in my book jobber’s shipment this morning.  Bravo Dinah!

Author: spotwin

While I am a librarian , I am a reading cheerleader. The purpose of this library blog is to better promote reading and information literacy to community. I love books, reading to my son,properly placed apostrophes,canoeing, locating the nearest Starbucks, cheering the Montreal Canadians, and Cherry Garcia ice cream.

Leave a Reply

