Spot the Empire Librarian's blog

Welcome to a librarian's online musings on libraries, literature and information media.

Student Ambition

Leave a comment

Often I feel that I am a rather lucky girl. I have many wonderful  elements to my life; a home, a wonderful husband who understands the balance of being right or being happy, a son who is bright and inquisitive and full of much promise for the future, as well as having a rewarding job.

I was reminded of this this morning when one of my students was discussing her  newly created blog.  The conversation left me with  the notion that I must be doing something right to inspire such initiative and creativity. Of course, I cannot lay claim to  this entirely, she does come from a well read family.

Sidney has created a literary blog, one which reviews various children’s novels she has read over the  past year. It recommends novels , offers details on each story as a way to encourage others to enjoy reading as much as she does.

Furthermore, Sidney has created a ‘marketing’ brochure in which to promote her website.  Of course the pamphlet is in book form, in keeping with the theme of the blog. I am ever so proud of Sidney and her ambition as well as  her innovative  approach to literacy. It is immensely rewarding to  have students who are engaged with their own self learning.

A site worth visiting……a Falcon initiative.  Something worth applauding.

sidneyreviews.blogspot.com

Author: spotwin

While I am a librarian , I am a reading cheerleader. The purpose of this library blog is to better promote reading and information literacy to community. I love books, reading to my son,properly placed apostrophes,canoeing, locating the nearest Starbucks, cheering the Montreal Canadians, and Cherry Garcia ice cream.

Leave a Reply

