Spot the Empire Librarian's blog

Welcome to a librarian's online musings on libraries, literature and information media.

Distopia…..or in search of a perfect world

Leave a comment

As the new year rolls in, I am trying something new. Broadening my reading horizons, if you will.   Normally, I do not read young adult fiction, much lest distopian fiction.

With the popularity of the much anticipated Hunger Games movies ( yes, they are based on books by Suzanne Collins) , I thought that I would try a few novels in this vein.
Below is a list of some of my recent reads, distopian, young adult style.  If you like the Hunger Games storyline, then you might like to move on to some of these titles.
Westerfield, Scott. Uglies.  Pretties.  Specials. Extras. series
Condie, Allie. Matched. Crossed.
Buchoz, Pam. Candor.
Roth, Veronica. Divergent. Insurgent.
Oliver, Lauren. Delirium.
Of course, the traditional classics must be included in this list
Orwell, George. 1984.
Bradbury, Ray. Farhenheit 451.
Huxley, Adolf. Brave New World.

Keep reading, my friends.

Author: spotwin

While I am a librarian , I am a reading cheerleader. The purpose of this library blog is to better promote reading and information literacy to community. I love books, reading to my son,properly placed apostrophes,canoeing, locating the nearest Starbucks, cheering the Montreal Canadians, and Cherry Garcia ice cream.

Leave a Reply

