Spot the Empire Librarian's blog

Welcome to a librarian's online musings on libraries, literature and information media.

Lady Gaga Declares Herself Librarian of Glam Culture

Leave a comment

Recently, Lady Gaga, pop icon, musician and avant-garde fashionista,  stated

“Glam culture is ultimately rooted in obsession,” she writes, “and those of us who are truly devoted and loyal to the lifestyle of glamour are masters of its history. Or, to put it more elegantly, we are librarians.

Really? I , as a certified professional  with over 20 years experience, six years of university  studies under my belt and two degrees , question her liberal use of the word “librarian”.

“I myself can look at almost any hemline, silhouette, beadwork or heel architecture and tell you very precisely who designed it after them, and what cultural and musical movement parented the birth, death and resurrection of that particular trend,” she boasts.

So how did the “Judas” singer become such an authority?

“An expertise in the vocabulary of fashion, art and pop culture requires a tremendous amount of studying. My studio apartment on the [Lower East Side], quite similar to many of my hotel suites now – knock on wood – was covered in inspiration,” she explains. “Everything from vintage books and magazine I found at the Strand on 12th Street to my dad’s old Bowie posters to metal records from my best friend Lady Starlight to Aunt Merle’s hand-me-down emerald-green designer pumps were sprawled all over the floor about two feet from my bathroom and four inches from my George Foreman Grill.

“I’ve done my homework. Have you?” she asks Rolling Stone readers. “Where are your library cards?”

On one hand, I feel insulted, when reading Gaga’s words.   Yes, you are correct, Gaga, I indeed DO live between fantasy and reality. I juggle the  everyday demands of my fiscal budget  and student demands (reality) and the pleasure of escaping into various literary masterpieces (fantasy).  On the other hand,  she is brilliant. She’s  got us talking… discussing and promoting the truths of our profession to all  who will listen.

The Annoyed Librarian, cleverly created a list of five reasons Gaga would not be a librarian.

1. She lacks an American Library Association accredited MLIS. However, I do. the University of Alberta’s MLIS program is one of the higher rated programs in North America. I am an educated  independent woman with a number of sought after 21st Century information management based skills. I can also do a mean version of “Wheels on the Bus” to my story time children.  (Gaga, let’s hear your PG version?)

2.  She makes  millions of dollars.  Librarians never pull in a huge salary, and many fail at their first career. Our success is not measured in Grammy Awards,  but in satisfactorily answering  inquiries on the reference desk. And balancing my library budget.

3. Her physic.  She is young and thin. While I am not saying that all librarians are plus size, we are not all model thin either. Have you been to an American Library Association Annual Conference recently?  Much of our membership is aging and approaching  retirement.

4. No self-respecting library professional would reference their George Foreman Grill  when being interviewed by Rolling Stone Magazine, or any other mainstream media outlet, for that matter.

and finally

5. Library professionals, on the whole, are not obsessed by fashion.  I draw a comparison between the  University  of Washington library parody and Lady Gaga herself to confirm this.  I have yet to encounter a  library colleague who has worn a meat dress (other than  Jana Sterbak) to work.

The ultimate irony is that a group of MLIS candidates from the University of Washington, spoofed Gaga’s “Poker Face” video with their own version, “Library Catalog”.  The library version has recorded  794, 872 viewings since May 2010. click here to see Library Catalog video, posted on  my Falcon Blog, May 27, 2010.

Lady Gaga is nothing like a librarian.  However, I will point out one obvious fact. Her  footware…those heels! She wouldn’t last five minutes in a school library.

as cited from

Author: spotwin

While I am a librarian , I am a reading cheerleader. The purpose of this library blog is to better promote reading and information literacy to community. I love books, reading to my son,properly placed apostrophes,canoeing, locating the nearest Starbucks, cheering the Montreal Canadians, and Cherry Garcia ice cream.

Leave a Reply

