Spot the Empire Librarian's blog

Welcome to a librarian's online musings on libraries, literature and information media.

Pondering transliteracy…and updating my READ poster.

Leave a comment

What would a transliteracy READ poster look like?

Would it be someone holding a laptop? A smartphone or other mobile device? Or seated at a computer? Or a wifi router? Or e-reader?

And, more importantly, why haven’t we seen one yet?

I want to take a picture of me with my laptop with the banner page of my favorite blogs. That’s my READ poster.

as cited from http://agnosticmaybe.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/sunday-night-ponderance/

As inspired by Andy’s blog, I too am mulling over updating my READ poster which hangs in my school library.  Perhaps  the cute picture of my infant son and I reading “Are you my mother” should be updated  with a picture of my now four year old learning his sight words from our I phone app and our Nook.

Hmmm….. transliteracy,  while might have a basis in traditional books and reading, has now expanded to an electronic form, allowing us to blog, Facebook ( is that a verb?), online gaming, Kindle textbook devices etc.  My son’s literary world will be much different than that of my  own childhood.

Author: spotwin

While I am a librarian , I am a reading cheerleader. The purpose of this library blog is to better promote reading and information literacy to community. I love books, reading to my son,properly placed apostrophes,canoeing, locating the nearest Starbucks, cheering the Montreal Canadians, and Cherry Garcia ice cream.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers